JAH DEVICE The versatile Gospel singer

 

With his trademark smile and cascading dreadlocks, the Plateau State-born youthful and fast rising gospel reggae singer, multi-instrumentalist and producer spoke to our team of editors.

Who is Jah Device?

I’m Vincent Nyam(aka God’s Device or Jah Device) an indigene of plateau state, a graduate of finance and accounting from Plateau state Polytechnic, a student of sound engineering and acoustics of a university affiliated with Ohio university, USA. I am a performing musician , I sing, I produce, I play musical instruments [percussion, guitar, keyboard and drums.] I have a band of 12. I call them `fire house crew’ while my fiancee calls them `power house.’ I do live performances- the most popular  genre-reggae music, conventional reggae music; I am a gospel reggae musician.

What inspired your passion and your type of music?

Ehm…it was and still is pleasurable, equally it’s a good platform to pass my message to my generation. Reggae music is best suited for this purpose, as it glues listeners to their seats to reflect. Reggae music has it’s base on spirituality. It’s target is humanity.

Model?

I grew up watching Bob Marley along with my brothers and friends. It made sense to me as I watched how he shaped his generation; he was like an icon of freedom. He stood for peace, he was an inspiration. He influenced my choice of music. God inspired everything, I write about love: love between God and Man, Man and Woman.

Why love songs?

I love seeing people get married. I love attending weddings. My father was a “connector.’’ I know that whenever I spot my compatible mate, I’ll “strike.’’

How long have you been in music?

Professionally since 1994. I snuck out of secondary school to perform on major stages in Abuja.

How many albums do you have?

I have an album in the market titled“Hope reloaded’’ which was released 5th of july, 2009. I’m independent now but I’m still looking for a management deal so I can concentrate on singing and thinking. I have three albums on a waiting list which feature musicians like Versatile, Dave Azi, Young talented. Also, I am working with Jesse Jackz and M.I. I hope to work with Bongos Ikwe to do one of his works. Recently, we also did an all- star track featuring  Sound Sultan, Stella Damascus, Pat Amata, Bracket, Mr. Kem, Ruby, amongst others.

Jah Device

CE: Wearing locks?

 It’s a coincidence that I wear locks. I don’t wear locks because I sing reggae music. I sang reggae music before I began to wear locks. My grandfather wore locks as well as my brothers, but they did not sing reggae music. Wearing locks is a cultural thing [Berom culture in plateau state] especially for warriors, entertainers of kings, or family of king makers which I am one. Also, it’s an African thing. Africans did not know what combs were until white men came with some pricky thing called comb. They made us comb our hair, shave hair, etc. Furthermore, I wear locks to create an impression.

How do people see you?

I have no problem relating with people, I see who I want to see. There was an incident where an official almost barred me from taking holy communion except for the timely intervention of the parish priest who knew my antecedents as devout catholics and “lay readers.’’ I have spoken to like 4 state governors one on one. I work in the bishop’s court, I’m the secretary of the music secretariat of the Christian Association of Nigeria [CAN] Plateau state chapter.

Philosophy?

Live and let live. Act justly. Walk humbly. Love tenderly.

Costume?

I’m working on that, though I try to be modest. Sometimes my managers protest that but I think it suits my person. I like white shirts on stage.

Challenges?

I don’t have promoters yet. Another is financial…paying for services rendered to me. Furthermore, most media don’t play my music even when it’s good.

Other things about you that people don’t know?

I’m a peace builder and bridge builder. I like service –oriented tasks.

Managing stardom?

I don’t give my number to females because I don’t want problems. It’s terrible to be on the defensive side. I don’t shun people who pose for photographs or want my autographs. Projections? I see Device living a fulfilled life. Music awards will come when it will. I can’t stop until I become an icon in Africa. I want to perform more on major stages.

Memorable moments?

When a fan fought  his way through the crowd and security only to call me the “love messenger’’, tears dropped down my cheeks. That inspired a whole album.

About Career Exclusive magazine ?

It’s a missing link. Many young people will get linked up. It’ll have multiplier effect. Imagine when someone like me is signed, imagine how many people will be employed. It’s a great idea.

On a final note…

Persevere and keep pressing on.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • life insurance  On July 16, 2013 at 11:04 pm

    I do not know whether it’s just me or if everybody else experiencing problems with your blog. It appears like some of the text in your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This could be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Kudos

  • #  On July 29, 2013 at 6:54 am

    The only issue about wooden doors or any kind of decor.

    There are now even computer software available that let
    creative homeowners customize to their heart s content by sketching out a wooden
    door it won’t rot or crack and soon look terrible. Use the olive oil to grease hinges or slider doors if neccesary7.

  • Ezie Irmiya Bot  On April 12, 2014 at 10:28 am

    Jah Device, is my best reggea star and i believe and my prayers for him is to win the Grammy one day.

Leave a Reply

